eurovision 1980

all time rank: the position that the country and the song have between all the eurovision songs

chart from the game vote for the best eurovision song.

Eurovision Song Contest 1980
ESC 1980 logo.png
Final date 19 April 1980
Venue Congresgebouw
The Hague,Netherlands
Presenter(s) Marlous Fluitsma
Conductor Rogier Van Otterloo
Director Theo Ordeman
Host broadcaster Netherlands NOS
Interval act The Dutch Rhythm Steel and Show Band
Number of entries 19
Debuting countries
Returning countries
Withdrawing countries

participating countries

Israeli TV didn’t want to host the 1980 Song Contest again even if they won it the year before on home ground.The Eurovision Song Contest 1980 was the 25th Eurovision Song Contest and was held on 19 April 1980 in The Hague. The Hague was once more the host city for the song contest after both Israel and the United Kingdom declined to be hosts.The presenter was Marlous Fluitsma, although each song was introduced by a presenter from the nation represented.
Morocco joined the Eurovision family for the first (and so far only) time. It is rumoured that they were only brought in to replace Israel,participated with Samira, a star in all of the Arabian countries, but when her entry Bitakat Hob ended up at 18th position with just 7 points altogether, Moroccan TV decided that the country should not participate in the contest again. Turkey returned to the contest after one year’s absence and Monaco stayed home which meant that the total amount of participating countries amounted to 19 – just as in 1979.
Australian-born Johnny Logan representing Ireland was the winner of this Eurovision with the song, “What’s Another Year”. This was Ireland’s second time winning the competition, having won in 1970 with “All Kinds of Everything”.His 1980 victory brought him a number one hit in the UK and numerous television appearances across Europe. What’s another year received seven times the maximum of 12 point votes, ending up with 143 points in total.Germany were runners-up this year. They would finish in second place again the following year, finally winning it in 1982.

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Austria

Flag of Austria
Blue Danube Du Bist Musik 064 08
02 Turkey

Flag of Turkey
Ajda Pekkan Petr’oil 023 15
03 Greece

Flag of Greece
Anna Vishy and the Epikouri Autostop 030 13
04 Luxembourg

Flag of Luxembourg
Sophie and Magaly Papa Pingouin 056 09
05 Morocoo

Flag of Morocco
Samira Bensaïd Bitakat Hob 007 18
06 Italy

Flag of Italy
Alan Sorrenti Non So Che Darei 087 06
07 Denmark

Flag of Denmark
Bamses Venner Tænker Altid På Dig 025 14
08 Sweden

Flag of Sweden
Tomas Ledin Just Nu! 047 10
09 Switzerland

Flag of Switzerland
Paola Cinéma 104 04
10 Finland

Flag of Finland
Vesa-Matti Loiri Huilumies 006 19
11 Norway

Flag of Norway
Sverre Kjellsberg and Mattis Hætta Sámiid Ædnan 015 16
12 Germany

Flag of Germany
Katja Ebstein Theater 128 02
United Kingdom
Flag of United Kingdom
Prima Donna Love Enough For Two 106 03
14 Portugal

Flag of Portugal
José Cid Um Grande, Grande Amor 071 07
15 Netherlands

Flag of The Netherlands
Maggie MacNeal Amsterdam 093 05
16 France

Flag of France
Profil Hé, Hé M’sieurs Dames 045 11
17 Ireland

Flag of Ireland
Johnny Logan What’s Another Year 143 01
18 Spain

Flag of Spain
Trigo Limpio Qué Date Esta Noche 038 12
19 Belgium

Flag of Belgium
Telex Euro-vision 014 17

Returning artists

Artist Country Previous year(s)
Katja Ebstein  Germany 1970,1971
Maggie MacNeal  Netherlands 1974 (part of Mouth & MacNeal)
Paola del Medico  Switzerland 1969

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s