eurovision 1993

all time rank: the position that the country and the song have between all the eurovision songs

chart from the game vote for the best eurovision song.

Eurovision Song Contest 1993
Eurovision Song Contest 1993 logo.svg
Final date 15 May 1993
Venue Green Glens Arena
Presenter(s) Fionnuala Sweeney
Conductor Noel Kelehan
Host broadcaster Republic of Ireland RTE
Opening act The story of Eochaid and Etain inCeltic mythology, transitioning into avideo of rural Ireland today.
Interval act Linda Martin,
Johnny Logan
Number of entries 25
Debuting countries   
Returning countries None
Withdrawing countries

participating countries


The Eurovision Song Contest 1993 was the 38th Eurovision Song Contest and was held on 15 May 1993.The small city of Millstreet, Ireland, was the host for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. 1993 was the first year to feature a pre-qualifying heat for Eastern European countries. In the run-up to the contest, the European Broadcasting Union started to take into account how many potential countries would apply to enter the contest. The dissolution of the Eastern bloc and the disintegration of Yugoslavia created many new potential applicants. Because of that, seven countries from Eastern Europe had to participate in a preliminary heat called Kvalifikacija za Millstreet in Ljubljana, Slovenia, on the 3rd of April, in order to go to the final night of the 1993 Eurovision Song Contest. Bosnia & Herzegovina, Slovenia and Croatia made it through the preliminary heat and made their debut in the song contest as independent nations. Hungary, Slovakia, Romania and Estonia had to wait till the following year to be eligible to enter Europe’s biggest musical event.
Niamh Kavanagh was the winner of this Eurovision for Ireland with the song, “In Your Eyes”. This was Ireland’s fifth victory, and equalled the tally of five Eurovision victories achieved by France in 1977 and Luxembourg in 1983.The UK entry Better The Devil You Know by Sonia was seen by many as the favorite to win, as Sonia had had some international hits with the legendary producers Stock, Aitken and Waterman.
The voting required a jury to deliberate in the midst of the on-going war in Bosnia and Herzegovina. Warm applause rang round the hall as a voice on a crackling phone line was heard to deliver the familiar greeting, “Hello Millstreet, Sarajevo calling”.
During the announcement of the scores by the Dutch jury, Sweeney got carried away with the audience’s cheers and declared Ireland 12 points when they had only been awarded 10 – which was promptly corrected.
By the final few juries it became clear that either Ireland or the United Kingdom were going to win. After the penultimate jury had voted, it looked to be a lost cause for second-placed Sonia of the UK as she was eleven points behind Niamh Kavanagh.
Due to earlier technical difficulties, the final jury to announce their results was the Maltese jury. An expectant Irish crowd waited to hear Malta award anything between one and ten points to either the UK or Ireland – the result of which would have made it arithmetically impossible for Ireland to be caught. However, the name of neither country came up (the ten points instead surprisingly being awarded to Luxembourg). This of course meant that either the UK or Ireland must have failed to pick up any points from the final jury, and if it was Sonia that received the maximum twelve points, the seemingly impossible would have happened and the UK would snatch a single-point victory at the death. Instead it was Ireland that were awarded the final points of the evening, finishing with what looked in retrospect a comfortable twenty-three point victory.

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Italy

Flag of Italy
Enrico Ruggeri Sole D’europa 045 12
02 Turkey

Flag of Turkey
Burak Aydos, Öztürk Baybora & Serter Esmer Yarim 010 21
03 Germany

Flag of Germany
Münchener Freiheit Viel Zu Weit 018 18
04 Switzerland

Flag of Switzerland
Annie Cotton Moi, Tout Simplement 148 03
05 Denmark

Flag of Denmark
Tommy Seebach Band Under Stjernerne På Himlen 009 22
06 Greece

Flag of Greece
Katerina Garbi Ellada, Hora Tou Fotos 064 09
07 Belgium

Flag of Belgium
Barbara Iemand Als Jij 003 25
08 Malta

Flag of Malta
William Mangion This Time 069 08
09 Iceland

Flag of Iceland
Inga þá Veistu Svarið 042 13
10 Austria

Flag of Austria
Tony Wegas Maria Magdalena 032 14
11 Portugal

Flag of Portugal
Anabela A Cidade Até Ser Dia 060 10
12 France

Flag of France
Patrick Fiori Mama Corsica 121 04
13 Sweden

Flag of Sweden
Arvingarna Eloïse 089 07
14 Ireland

Flag of Ireland
Niamh Kavanagh In Your Eyes 187 01
15 Luxembourg

Flag of Luxembourg
Modern Times Donne-moi Une Chance 011 20
16 Slovenia

Flag of Slovenia
1X Band Tih Dezeven Dan 009 22
17 Finland

Flag of Finland
Katri-Helena Tule Luo 020 17
18 Bosnia & Herzegovina

Flag of Bosnia & Herzegovina
Fazla Sva Bol Svijeta 027 16
19 United Kingdom

Flag of United Kingdom
Sonia Better The Devil You Know 164 02
20 Netherlands

Flag of The Netherlands
Ruth Jacott Vrede 092 06
21 Croatia

Flag of Croatia
Put Don’t Ever Cry 031 15
22 Spain

Flag of Spain
Eva Santamaria Hombres 058 11
23 Cyprus

Flag of Cyprus
Kyriakos Zymboulakis and Demos Van Beke Mi Stamatas 017 19
24 Israel

Flag of Israel
Lakahat Shiru Shiru 004 24
25 Norway

Flag of Norway
Silje Vige Alle Mine Tankar 120 05

Returning artists

Artist Country Previous year(s)
Tony Wegas  Austria 1992
Tommy Seebach  Denmark 1979,1981
Katri Helena  Finland 1979

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s