eurovision 2001

all time rank: the position that the country and the song have between all the eurovision songs

chart from the game vote for the best eurovision song.

Eurovision Song Contest 2001
Final date 12 May 2001
Venue Parken Stadium
Presenter(s) Natasja Crone Back
Soren Pilmark
Executive supervisor Christine Marchal-Ortiz
Host broadcaster Denmark DR
Opening act Olsen Brothers with “Fly on the wings of love” and”Walk Right Back”
Interval act Aqua and Safri Duo
Number of entries 23
Debuting countries None
Returning countries
Withdrawing countries

participating countries


The Eurovision Song Contest 2001 was the 46th Eurovision Song Contest and was held on 12 May 2001 in the Parken Stadium in Copenhagen, Denmark. It was the first time in 36 years that Denmark hosted the Eurovision Song Contest, thanks to the Olsen Brothers’ win the previous year in Stockholm. The Olsen Brothers Opened the show with a snippet from their winning song “Fly on the Wings of Love”, followed by their latest single “Walk Right Back”, which was already a smash hit in Denmark.The presenters were Danish journalist and TV-show presenter Natasja Crone Back and the famous Danish actor Søren Pilmark.A record-breaking 35,000 spectators attended the 2001 Eurovision Song Contest in the Parken Stadium in Copenhagen, which ended with Estonia being the surprise winner,who were represented by Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL with the song “Everybody”, written by Ivar Must and Maian Karmas. Dave Benton, from Aruba, was the first black person to win the contest.
The logo of the 2001 Eurovision Song Contest was made out of four circles, placed in the shape of a heart.The Danish national broadcaster faced some problems whilst organising the contest such as the lack of funds and the search for a suitable venue. The event was eventually located in the football stadium Parken. France, Greece and Slovenia were predicted to win this year.All of the countries participating in this year’s Eurovision were required to use televoting for the first time after becoming compulsory. The jury backup votes were only used by some countries with either technical problems with their televotes or a weak fixed-telephone infrastructure. Further changes occurred in the qualification process for the 2002 Contest: along with the “Big 4” countries, the top 15 placed countries of the country would qualify for next year’s competition.
Controversy was again rife in the 2001 Contest: the United Kingdom TV commentator Terry Wogan repeatedly made critical comments about the hosts and dubbed them “Doctor Death and the Tooth Fairy/The Little Mermaid” after providing their entire commentary in rhyming couplets. The Danes were so offended that the BBC was obliged to issue an apology on Wogan’s comments. Controversy also surrounded the Swedish song, “Listen To Your Heartbeat”, which was repeatedly accused as a plagiarism of the Belgian entry for the 1996 Contest, “Liefde is een kaartspel”. Eventually the EBU decided for the matter to be settled in court, with the song allowed to compete as long as the courts did not declare the song as plagiarism.

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Netherlands

Flag of The Netherlands
Michelle Out On My Own 016 18
02 Iceland

Flag of Iceland
TwoTricky Angel 003 22
03 Bosnia & Herzegovina

Flag of Bosnia & Herzegovina
Nino Hano 029 14
04 Norway

Flag of Norway
Haldor Lægreid On My Own 003 22
05 Israel

Flag of Israel
Tal Sondak Ein Davar 025 16
06 Russia

Flag of Russia
Mumiy troll Lady Alpine Blue 037 12
07 Sweden

Flag of Sweden
Friends Listen To Your Heartbeat 100 05
08 Lithuania

Flag of Lithuania
Skamp You Got Style 035 13
09 Latvia

Flag of Latvia
Arnis Mednis Too Much 016 18
10 Croatia

Flag of Croatia
Vanna Strings Of My Heart 042 10
11 Portugal

Flag of Portugal
MTM Só Sei Ser Feliz Assim 018 17
12 Ireland

Flag of Ireland
Gary O’Shaughnessy Without Your Love 006 21
13 Spain

Flag of Spain
David Civera Dile Que La Quiero 076 06
14 France

Flag of France
Natasha Saint-Pier Je N’ai Que Mon âme 142 04
15 Turkey

Flag of Turkey
Sedat Yüce Sevgiliye Son 041 11
16 United Kingdom

Flag of United Kingdom
Lindsay D. No Dream Impossible 028 15
17 Slovenia

Flag of Slovenia
Nuša Derenda Energy 070 07
18 Poland

Flag of Poland
Piasek 2 Long 011 20
19 Germany

Flag of Germany
Michelle Wer Liebe Lebt 066 08
20 Estonia

Flag of Estonia
Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL Everybody 198 01
21 Malta

Flag of Malta
Fabrizio Faniello Another Summer Night 048 09
22 Greece

Flag of Greece
Antique Die For You 147 03
23 Denmark

Flag of Denmark
Rollo & King Never Ever Let You Go 177 02

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s