eurovision 2002

all time rank: the position that the country and the song have between all the eurovision songs

chart from the game vote for the best eurovision song.

Eurovision Song Contest 2002
“A Modern Fairytale”
Eurovision Song Contest 2002.svg
Final date 25 May 2002
Venue Saku Suurhall
Presenter(s) Annely Peebo,
Marko Matvere
Director Marius Bratten
Host broadcaster Estonia ETV
Opening act Tanel Padar & Dave Benton performing “Everybody”
Interval act Dance performance directed and choreographed by Teet Kask (during voting).Annely Peebo & Marko Matvere performing “A Little Story in the Music”
Number of entries 24
Debuting countries None
Returning countries       
Withdrawing countries      

participating countries


The Eurovision Song Contest 2002 was the 47th edition of the Eurovision Song Contest. It took place on 25 May 2002 at the Saku Suurhall Arena in Tallinn, Estonia.There had been worries about whether Estonian broadcaster ETV would be able to fund the event; however, worries were put to rest when a combination of fundraising activities and the Estonian Government enabled them to host the event. The theme implemented for this year’s contest was ‘a modern fairytale’.The rules for the 2002 contest stated that only 22 countries would be able to participate, but the European Broadcasting Union later changed this into 24 countries being allowed into the competition. Israel accepted the invitation as the first runner-up in the pool of countries that were initially doomed to stay at home. Portugal, the second runner-up declined to go to Tallinn, so Latvia was able to enter the 2002 Eurovision Song Contest. This was a rather peculiar situation, since Latvia ended up winning the whole contest in the end!
The show began with 2001 winners Tanel Padar and Dave Benton performing a reprise of their winning entry “Everybody”. The hosts for the evening, Annely Peebo and Marko Matvere, gave a performance of “A Little Story in the Music”, composed by Raimond Valgre and arranged especially for the event, during the commercial break between the songs from Sweden and Finland.
Controversy erupted during the competition over remarks by commentators on Swedish and Belgian TV, both of whom told the audience not to vote for the Israeli singer Sarit Hadad. Hadad received zero points from the Swedish audience but earned two from the Belgians, finishing 12th overall.The Danes suffered the same fate at this contest, as the Norwegians had suffered some years earlier. Denmark won in 2000, came second in 2001 and last in 2002. Norway won in 1995, came second in 1996 and last in 1997, where it picked up its fourth ‘nul points’, a Eurovision record for the most scorless entries. The Danish entry in 2002, Malene Mortensen, had been one of the favorites to win.
There was no clear favorite among the 24 countries competing. Sweden, Germany and the host country Estonia were tipped as winners, but it was Marie N (Marija Naumova) who was able to hold the trophy in her hands. Marie N had already tried to enter the 2000 and 2001 Eurovision Song Contests, but narrowly missed out both times. Her 2002 entry I Wanna had a stunning dress change gimmick as Marie started her song wearing a white suit – only to end it wearing a sexy red dress! This was the start of many more intriguing dress changes in the following Eurovision Song Contests. However, Marie N’s I Wanna didn’t prove to be a big success in the European charts as the single of it was only released months after the Latvian victory.

As had been the case every year since the mid-1980s, the contest was broadcast in Australia on SBS-TV with the BBC commentary. Within a few years, the contest would grow to be so popular in Australia, it would warrant SBS sending its own commentators.After the breakup of Yugoslavia, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was last participated in 1992. Radio Television of Serbia broadcast the show. Originally, first time as Serbia and Montenegro had planned debuts, but the EBU’s late changes to the relegation procedure meant that they could not compete. They made their debut in 2004.

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Cyprus

Flag of Cyprus
One Gimme 085 06
02 United Kingdom

Flag of United Kingdom
Jessica Garlick Come Back 111 03
03 Austria

Flag of Austria
Manuel Ortega Say A Word 026 18
04 Greece

Flag of Greece
Michalis Rakintzis S.A.G.A.P.O. 027 17
05 Spain

Flag of Spain
Rosa Europe’s Living A Celebration 081 07
06 Croatia

Flag of Croatia
Vesna Pisarovic Everything I Want 044 11
07 Russia

Flag of Russia
Prime minister Northern Girl 055 10
08 Estonia

Flag of Estonia
Sahléne Runaway 111 03
09 Fyrom

Flag of F.Y.R. Macedonia
Karolina Od Nas Zavisi 025 19
10 Israel

Flag of Israel
Sarit Hadad Light A Candle 037 12
11 Switzerland

Flag of Switzerland
Francine Jordi Dans Le Jardin De Mon Âme 015 22
12 Sweden

Flag of Sweden
Afro-dite Never Let It Go 072 08
13 Finland

Flag of Finland
Laura Addicted To You 024 20
14 Denmark

Flag of Denmark
Malene Tell Me Who You Are 007 24
15 Bosnia & Herzegovina

Flag of Bosnia & Herzegovina
Maja Na Jastuku Za Dvoje 033 13
16 Belgium

Flag of Belgium
Sergio & the Ladies Sister 033 13
17 France

Flag of France
Sandrine François Il Faut Du Temps 104 05
18 Germany

Flag of Germany
Corinna May I Can’t Live Without Music 017 21
19 Turkey

Flag of Turkey
Buket Bengisu & Saphire Leylaklar Soldu Kalbinde 029 16
20 Malta

Flag of Malta
Ira Losco 7th Wonder 164 02
21 Romania

Flag of Romania
Monica Anghel & Marcel Pavel Tell Me Why 071 09
22 Slovenia

Flag of Slovenia
Sestre Samo Ljubezen 033 13
23 Latvia

Flag of Latvia
Marie N I Wanna 176 01
24 Lithuania

Flag of Lithuania
Aivaras Happy You 012 23

Returning artists

Artist Country Previous year(s)
Constantinos Christoforou  (part of One)  Cyprus 1996
Monica Anghel  Romania 1996 (Pre-qualifying round)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s